On getting it right: Bill Nighy

6 Mar

Sometimes it’s the simplest sentences that tell.  You can keep your endless treatises and academic hard-back books on Mod, for me the reasons why we do the thing we do is all in this couple of lines from an interview with the excellent Bill Nighy in today’s ‘Shortlist’ magaizine.  You can argue about the brands listed (I’m sure we all will) but I think the sentiment is spot on.  Mod as anti-fashion?  Damn right!

You’re a dapper gent. Have you always been into Mod fashion?

It may have started out as being fashion, but now it’s more anti-fashion. I make no concessions to the current trends. I always go to the same shops – Margaret Howell, John Smedley for my leisurewear; John Pearse and Anderson & Sheppard to construct my suits; Church’s for my shoes and socks, and glasses from Cutler And Gross. But I’m not into parkas and I’m not into helmets. I do like the idea of being smart, it’s cool. But also it’s a sort of defensive thing – “You may not like me, but check out my outfit.”

Read the full interview here: http://www.shortlist.com/entertainment/tv/bill-nighy

4 Responses to “On getting it right: Bill Nighy”

  1. Matt Ashman March 7, 2014 at 8:48 am #

    Some great comments from Mr Nighy there

    • gavinhughes64 March 7, 2014 at 11:32 am #

      Thanks for the comment Matt – the whole interview’s worth a read.

  2. Matt Ashman March 28, 2014 at 9:08 am #

    Interesting interview from one of my favourite contemporary actors. Just caught up with Turks & Caicos last night. Best line: “Some people put their money into claret, I put mine in to shirts”, delivered with his usual nonchalant cool. Top Man.

    • gavinhughes64 March 28, 2014 at 9:35 am #

      I missed that show – saw the very end and thought he looked as insouciant as ever. One to catch up with I guess! And you’re right – that’s a great line (one I may pinch!). Appreciate the comments, thanks.

Leave a Reply

